TCU Press: About Us



TCU Press has traditionally published the history and literature of Texas and the American West. As the press has grown steadily in stature and in its ability to bring credit to its parent university over the last sixty years, it has been praised for publishing regional fiction and for discovering and preserving local history.


TCU Press is also a member of the Texas Book Consortium, a collection of university presses from around the state. Book sales and distribution are handled by Texas A&M University Press, the leader of the Consortium.



TCU Press seeks to expand upon the university’s core mission through the discovery, development, and dissemination of knowledge by the publication of significant, relevant, and innovative titles in the areas of history and literature of Texas and the American West, with a distinct focus on the discovery and preservation of local history.



To be a dynamic regional press using the most current technology to publish innovative and significant titles and to carry the TCU Press imprint into the literary world in all its forms.


Annual Report




The Texas Tradition Series reprints classic Texas literature which would otherwise disappear from bookstores and libraries—novelist Elmer Kelton is the mainstay of that series.


Chaparral Books for Young Readers are historical fiction for middle-school students. We believe that history frequently comes alive more through fiction than textbooks, and the aim of the Chaparral series is to captivate youngsters with Texas history.


The Texas Biography Series, sponsored by The Center for Texas Studies at TCU, offers scholarly, documented biographies of Texans like Emily Austin, Edmund J. Davis, and "Rip" Ford, who made strong contributions to Texas history but have not been researched and documented extensively.


A TCU Vision in Action grant made possible the TCU Texas Poets Laureate Series, books collecting recent and new work by the Texas poets laureate beginning with Alan Birkelbach, 2005, through Jan Seale, the 2012 Texas poet laureate.